Ever Since New York | NYC Photo Diary

It’s been years since I’ve been to New York, but I often find myself thinking of the city and dreaming of when I will return. As someone who grew up in the suburbs, there’s something about the hustle and bustle of the big city that I find so captivating.

Manhattan BridgeIMG_2584ChinatownDSC_0156

As most tourists do during their first time in the city, we went to the top of Rockefeller Center to catch a glimpse of the city from above.

Top of the RockNew York City SkyscrapersNew York City - Birds Eye View

This moment reminded me of the scene in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off where Ferris, Sloane, and Cameron lean against the glass windows of Sears Tower and look below at the people of Chicago.

“The city looks so peaceful from here.”

“Anything looks peaceful from 1,353 feet.”

Of course, we had to see the city from the top of the Empire State Building as well.

New York CityNew York City StreetsHudson BayNew York City Buildings

The serenity of looking at the city from the top of skyscrapers reminds me of how small we are in this big world and how insignificant our day-to-day worries are in the grand scheme of things.

At ground level, on the other hand, the bustling city is exhilarating and everything seems larger than life.

DSC_0069DSC_0198

Speaking of larger than life, we also took a ferry to Ellis Island and visited the Statue of Liberty. Standing at the foot of that colossal monument was a surreal experience.

As the child of immigrants, being in a space so integral to the immigrant narrative in America (though vastly different from my own family’s immigration story) was overwhelming. I’ll always remember the story my dad told me about when he first moved to New York for residency shortly after immigrating to the United States with his dad and brother in the ’80s. He saw the Statue of Liberty for the first time and said to himself, “I’m an American now.”

DSC_0120DSC_0067

Have you been to NYC before? If so, what are your favorite memories in the city? Leave them in the comments below!

 

9 comments

  1. Imani Baldi · · Reply

    I’m crying this made me miss NYC so much! My favorite memory of being in the big city was walking through Times Squre for the very first time, because it was just like everything you see on TV. It was exhilarating and electrifying all at the same time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s one of my favorite memories too! There’s nothing like being in Times Square for the first time. Normally being around that many people would make me sick, but something about New York makes me love it.

      Like

  2. Your photos of the city are wonderful. My daughter and I made a quick weekend trip to NYC about a month ago. We spent all of our time exploring from the streets and didn’t go to the top of one of the buildings so I really loved seeing your photos from above the city. My favorite thing was going to the Statue of Liberty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was nice being able to go to the top of those buildings, but with the ticket prices and long lines, it’s definitely not necessary. Hope you and your daughter had a great trip!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Been to NY? Yes, many times? Best memory? One of many.
    A Bob Marley concert in ’79, up in Harlem.
    Babylon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, sounds incredible!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rastafar-ai!

        Like

  4. I’ve never been to NYC, it has been on my travel bucket list for so long, mostly ever since I finished watching Gossip Girl maybe 4 years ago.
    These pictures look fantastic and make me just want to pack my bag and catch a flight 🙂
    -Pratz
    ponderingsbypratz.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gossip Girl was one of the reasons I wanted to visit New York as well! Thank you. And you definitely should make a trip out to the city, you won’t regret it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

